About Plague of Stars

Plague of Stars began in 2012 and includes: Liz Ziegler (Portraits of War, Portentum, Uxia, and Imaginaerum), Will Maravelas (Coffin Rites, Chalice of Suffering, We Are Legion) Aaron Lanik (Ysilik, Chalice of Suffering, We Are Legion), Frodo Caulfield (The Omega Sequence), and Neal Pruett (Mastiff, Oppress the Tyrant).

The ensemble experiments to create a new genre-defying metal act, deliberately combining metal sub-genres, as well as other musical textures, to create something innovative.

Their debut album ‘When Morning Came’ released with Zerobudget Records, received such remarks as “a striking and wonderfully diverse album that has plenty to offer fans of dark, brooding Metal in all its forms” (Metal Temple), “a good choice for those who like to hear a mixture of several different style,” (Sonic Cathedral), and stated that “the band has absorbed nearly every variation from the recent metal and rock history and created something that has not yet existed.” (Rockin’ Papparazzo), receiving 8/10 stars across the board from reviewers.

The band released their second album “Daedalus” in June 2019 to rave reviews! New band member Aaron “Frodo” Caulfield contributed to the songwriting. Bassist Tim Morton left for California in 2020 and the band announced in March 2020 the addition of Neal Pruett on bass! 

In early 2023, Melissa decided to step away from Plague of Stars in order to pursue other musical projects. The band onboarded Liz Ziegler to fill the role of vocalist. They had a retirement party/farewell show in September of 2023 to say goodbye to Melissa and welcome Liz. This was truly a spectacle and a special night.

Behind the scenes, Liz has been writing the vocals and lyrics for the bands third album “Extinction,” which will be released summer of 2024. This album is going to be the heaviest album to date, and they are thrilled! 

New Album – DAEDALUS – Out Now

Stay Connected

Contact Us

7 + 14 =